Hello again, wonderful people!  Here we are, one of my favorite days of the week, and apparently the close-to-favorite day of much of the online world, if phrases like “TGIF” and “Fri-YAY!” (<-love it!) are to be trusted.  It wasn’t that long ago that I was undecided in my stance on Fridays.  I mean, sure, it was almost the weekend, but not yet, and that felt like a letdown.  But now I’m firmly in the I-love-Friday-camp, because it is indeed almost the weekend and for whatever reason, I usually have a lot of time of Fridays.  Weird, I know.  But I’ve always loved considering five (or so) things for which I am thankful over the course of the week.  One of my favorite blogs, My Uncommon Everyday, always does a Friday Favorites post, and I would write all my favorites down, answer all her questions and post it as an EPICALLY long email comment (sorry, Ellen!).  Yes, I am that weird, online-socially-awkward person (actually, I’m socially awkward in real life, but that’s a topic for another time).  Anyhow, Ellen’s such a sweet person, and her blog is a such fun read; you really should go check her out!  After that blog pitch fan-girl crush, without further ado, let us dive right in to the best part of the week!  In no particular order. 😏  This was a particularly lovely week, and the ideas came without me even trying.

1)  Daring Greatly by Brené Brown.

Daring Greatly (332x499)

Finally, after hearing about it e.v.e.r.y.w.h.e.r.e. I. t.u.r.n.e.d., and thinking, That really sounds like my type of book; I should check it out!, I finally did!!  I mean, it was like God kept waving it in front of me until I did.  Oh. My. Goodness.  Aside from the Bible, I would say that this is the most life changing book I’ve ever read!!  I’m still only halfway through, but I would highly recommend it for anyone.  It speaks straight to my soul, especially after some tough friendship breakups, betrayals, messy relational stuff, etc. I’ve gone through in the last couple of years.  Brené Brown = soul balm. 💜 (And now I know why everyone’s crazy about this book!)

2)  Pizza.  One of my all-time favorite foods.  Papa John’s is my long-time favorite, but the other day, my sister Abbie suggested we make our own mini-pizzas, using this recipe of Kate’s.  Abbie and I are both habitually indecisive people, and if we could order pizza by the quarter flavor, we’d probably end up with an entire pizza order and each quarter being a different flavor.  Hence, the mini-pizza idea appealed to us.  We decided to try swapping honey for the sugar in Kate’s recipe, unsure how it would turn out.  Well, we suspect the swap was the culprit (we also had oven temperature troubles), but the crust didn’t raise much, which was a con for us, because we like thick crust.  Oh, well, that just calls for more experimenting right??  It had an amazing flavor, though, and I really liked the way the honey complemented that, so I’ll be sorry to see that go.  I decided to go simple with two flavors: one: leftover pesto, chicken, sun-dried tomatoes, goat cheese (half of that was the kind with honey: yum!!); and two, leftover cashew alfredo sauce, mushrooms, chicken, bacon, sun-dried tomatoes.  I was trying hard to avoid dairy (one of my allergens I have the biggest problem with), but even though I really wanted flavor #2 with Asiago, it was amazing without!  I just loved both the flavors…sorry I forgot to take a picture!

3)  My naturopath.

kat

Dr. Kat Martin is just the best.  She listens to you, believes you, believes in you, and keeps working with you to get you to a place of happy, healthful living.  She cares about how you are feeling and, as she says, how you are feeling is more significant than the lab results she gets back from blood work (although that is very informative).  She has helped me in the last few years of my health journey, as I experienced adrenal fatigue, was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s Hypothyroidism, suffered through severely wacked hormones therefrom, and battled with depression, lack of energy and zest for life, and mental, physical, emotional and spiritual drain.  She was always there for me, and I feel like I can say that not only is she my amazing doctor, but also my friend. 💙  I feel so sorry for all you people not living in the Seattle area who can’t try her out.

4)  Disney’s The Emperor’s New Groove.

I’m probably going to have to eat some serious crow with my brother and sister-in-law here, because they’ve been telling us for a long time how much they loved this movie.  Oh my goodness, but it was hilarious!!  I laughed pretty much all through the entire thing!  We got a three-day rental, and because my siblings and I have movie-watching in our blood, the kids watched it again while our parents had a Date Night. 😉  Oh, my…Kronk is me as a bad guy…seriously, I was right with him in his confusion about Yzma’s orders.  Plus, he loves to cook, and wants to wait till after dessert to do away with the main character, so he definitely earns favorite character status!  And I usually don’t have favorite characters.  I think I have a new name to add to my collection: Bilbo is my hobbit name, Winnie-the-Pooh is my overall Disney name, Kronk is my Disney bad guy name, and Aurion is my Two Islands name (<- okay, maybe that’s a bit of a stretch…and a whole other topic!).

5)  Converse.

Converse Photo Shoot - April 2011 - 009 (567x800){my first pair when they were brand-new}

My first pair of Chucks I bought almost 5 years ago and I was a little unsure about if I had enough clothes to wear them with, but they were a color I adored, a bright vivid turquoise, so I went ahead and bit the bullet and paid full price for them ($45 at the time…yes, I am kind of a cheapskate).  Totally worth it.  I’ve worn them into the ground and pretty soon I’ll have to say goodbye to my well-loved first pair. 😩  Because of this, and because I saw a new color I fell head-over-heels in love with (hello, Pink Sapphire!), I decided to go scope out Converse’s website and see if I wanted to buy a Pink Sapphire pair, or if there was a better (maybe more practical) choice.  Bad plan.  I added like 5-6 pairs to my Amazon wishlist.  Including another one I kind of also fell in love with and I think it’s being discontinued, because it’s on super sale and they are already out of my size.  I put it on anyway, because I tell myself maybe they’re getting another shipment?  Ha.  But Deep Bordeaux Black Wash…so cool that I couldn’t give up on it just yet.  Oh, and talk about cool, did you know they now make rubber hi-tops??  Made for Seattle weather, I’m tellin’ ya.

So, what about you guys?  How was your week?

Do like/own a pair of Chucks?

What’s your favorite Disney movie/character?

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites (September 25, 2015)

  1. I love, love love my connies, but you already know that. 😀
    There is no way that I could pick a favorite Disney character, or movie! Especially when I can’t think of them all at once. I love Kronk, though. Squeek squeeker squeek squeekin’ 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

