A lot of people find it hard to believe that I’ve never had braces.  Nope, 24-years-old and I’ve only had headgear and various sorts of retainers.  Until now.  About 7 months ago, I got braces on four of my teeth at the back of my mouth, because believe it or not, I have a tooth that’s turned 90 degrees.  (Don’t ask me which way, because I can’t really see it and am by now utterly confused about what it was like and how it’s supposed to end up…😆)  I could always see it in pictures as a hole in my smile off to the side (my right, your left as you look at me), and it kind of bothered me.  So when my parents asked me if I wanted to have it fixed, I was definitely all in! 👍

Now it’s partway through and I can’t really tell how far it’s progressed (see above about me being utterly confused), but I do know that I now have a bigger sinkhole than ever in my mouth.

Braces - September 2015 - 004 (534x800)

Do you have those unique crevices and places in your teeth where everything inevitably gets stuck?  You know, where you keep playing with it and straining to get the food out with your tongue as discretely as you can, but most of the time, it results in a super-sore tongue and you have to get up and fetch a toothpick or floss anyway.  Well, that’s the current stage of the hole next to my twisted tooth, except I also have a braces wire to wrangle with as well. 😖

I’m kinda going a little crazy in these selfies, trying to get a good picture where you can sort of see where my braces are without me looking like a total creeper/meanie/weirdo (“here, you want to see inside my mouth??”).

Braces - September 2015 - 003 (533x800)

I’m actually not minding having braces too much, though I am SO thankful it’s not a whole mouth of them because, ugh, the flossing!!  Oh, and except, I also do mind the no gum.  Though even that isn’t as bad as I expected, but it is a pain to have to be even more of a brushing nazi than I already was.

Anyhow, I know this is kind of boring-mundane stuff, but I actually had a point to telling you about my teeth.  I was actually excited to get to my orthodontist appointment today, because I am apparently one of the rare semi-adults who like colored bands on their braces and last time, I chose what looked like a bright, if a bit pastel, orange.  It was an abnormal choice for me, because all my favorite colors are cool colors and the warmer ones are just not really my jam.  But I wanted something different.  I was very disappointed when I came home and it was like the exact color of my teeth.  Like a creamy, off-yellow color?  Uh, no. thank. you.  So, needless to say, after 6 weeks of that, I was very anxious to get tried-and-true color bands.  I went with dark purple. 😉

Side-note: did you ever notice that if you mistype “needless” and drop the last s, it makes another word, “needles”? <- random Monday fact.

Have a great one, friends!

I'd love to hear from you!

